Serving the community since 1922

Wasco FFA leaders recognized

On Thursday, April 13, Wasco FFA attended the Kern Inyo and South Valley FFA Section

Awards Banquet. Wasco FFA was well represented at the banquet with two Golden Owl

Awards, three Star Greenhands, three Star Chapter Farmers, two Sectional Proficiencies, and nine State Degree Recipients.

Ag Teachers, Denise Morales and Victoria Tolin received the Golden Owl Award. Awarded to Agriculture Teachers, nominated by students.

These Ag Teachers go above and beyond for their students and for the agriculture community. Thank you, Mrs. Morales and Mrs. Tolin for your hard work and dedication.

The Star Greenhand Award is reserved for students who have had projects and that are

involved in teams and other FFA activities.

The Star Greenhands recipients are Jonathan Flores, Emma Gomez, and Betzaida Quintanilla. Good job to these students, we cannot wait to see what you do in the future.

The Star Chapter Farmer Award is given to students who has been

Involved consistently in the chapter by having a strong SAE project and participating in FFA

activities. This year's recipients are Samantha Cortez, Lauren Lee, and Yareli


At the Wasco FFA End of the Year Awards Night, one of theses three candidates for the Star

Greenhand and Star Chapter will be selected for the Chapter Award, a great honor to hold.

This years Sectional Banquet, two proficiency awards were given to Jalie Grundt for

Goats and Juan Carlos Pimentel Vasquez for Ag Sales. These two individuals have

put much time and effort into their Supervised Agricultural Experiences.

The State FFA Degree is the highest degree the California FFA Association can

bestow on a student. The qualifications that students must have accomplished to be awarded with such an honor they must have earned $1000 from their projects, worked 500 hours, and be at least a Junior in High School.

The recipients are the following: Natalia Crane, Diego Gomez, Esteban Hernandez,

Benito Juarez, Dayana Limon Santiago, Karly Perez, Daniel Rodriguez, and Hope


Congratulations to all who received an award. We are proud of you and all your



Reader Comments(0)